Goodreads Monday #3

So, it is October now, and all of a sudden I realize that there are quite some challenges that I still want to try to finish by the end of the year. At this point I think it is save to say that Halloween Bingo is not the success for me that I’d hoped it would be, and I will probably just go for a bingo, which would allow me to focus on the A Little Bit More challenge, for which I still have quite a few books to read. Therefore I think I will be selecting the next couple of GoodReads Monday books from that list.

This week I choose Doing Time by Jodi Taylor. It is the first book in her spin-off series from the Chronicles of St. Mary’s. I have been enjoying the main series for years now. It is – if that’s a thing – cozy time travel. History, coated with a lot of tea. It follows The Institute of St. Mary’s as they go about investigating “major historical events in contemporary time”. You can find my review for the first book, Just One Damned Thing After Another (that would be the book’s title rather than my review of it πŸ˜‰ ) here. The Time Police, who are the focus of this new series, are St. Mary’s frenemies. I am curious to see what this series will bring, but I do hope it will not cause Jodi Taylor to neglect the other series.

44597196. sy475

Introducing The Time Police, the brand-new series by international bestselling author, Jodi Taylor – an irresistible spinoff from the much-loved Chronicles of St Mary’s series. Perfect reading for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper Fforde.

At some time in the future, the secret of time-travel became available to all. Chaos ensued as people sought to take advantage. Because there will always be nutters who want to change history…

And so the Time Police were formed. Internationally sanctioned thugs whose task it was to keep the timeline straight by any and all means possible. And they succeeded. The Time Wars are over. The Time Police won. But who will win the peace?

Doing Time follows three hapless new Time Police recruits – Jane, Luke and Matthew – as they try to navigate their first year on the beat. It’s all going to be fine. Obviously.


Have you read anything by Jodi Taylor? Do you like books about time travel? What are you excited to read next? – Please let me know in the comments!

16 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday #3

Add yours

  1. I’ll have to look out for this one; I’ve read the first two or three of the St. Mary’s series and loved them, but stopped because there was something hinted at in the series that I didn’t like, though now I can’t remember what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There was a little something that happened around book three/four that I didn’t particularly liked but that is necessary for this series to exist. It’s difficult to say much more without adding spoilers πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Normally, the time travel part here is rather easy to follow. There is little to no science involved (at least in the main series, I can’t be certain for this series. I hope you give it a try and will enjoy it! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Difficult to say, since I haven’t read the spin-off series yet. I assume you can start there, but from what I have understood the main character from this series is also a character in the original series.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been meaning to get to the St Mary’s series for ages, keep hearing very good things! Plus I’m a sucker for some time travel shenanigans πŸ™‚ Would you advise reading the whole first series before this one, or is it completely separate?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read the spin-off yet, so it is difficult to guess. I think one of the characters from the main series features in this series and there are probably a lot of easter eggs, but considering it is a new series that focuses on a different institute they should be separate to some extent.

      However, the first St Mary’s books are great, so you might just want to give those a try…

      Like

Leave a Reply to urlphantomhive Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: